(607) 277-7335


Enter a term below to search the EACSMI site

Upper Level

This large, dynamic program organizes students in myriad ways. Each student is assigned to a home base where they begin and end their days. From there, they are gathered in groupings depending on subject. As a result, children interact with a wide variety of peers/adults over the course of each week, satisfying their intense drive for social connection.

Junior Level

Lower Elementary lessons are designed to awaken the imagination, stimulate curiosity, and arouse admiration for the innovative capacity of the human spirit. Students develop an awareness that everything in the universe is connected, interdependent and forms a harmonious whole, and see that they themselves are part of and contribute to that whole.

Developmental Continuum

Dr. Montessori concluded there are four distinct planes of development: from birth to age 6, age 6 to 12, age 12 to 18, and age 18 to 24.


At EAC, we prepare students to think critically, express effectively, and make connections between disparate strains of information, skills they will need as future citizens ready to make meaningful contributions to the world around them. At EAC, academic rigor, though an integral part of every student’s daily experience, is not an end in itself. Instead, academics serve our mission.

Open House

Twice per year we welcome families to explore our classrooms and chat with teachers. This is a great way to see your child in the environment and get a sense of what EAC has to offer.

About EAC

The Elizabeth Ann Clune Montessori School of Ithaca is more than just a school: it is a dynamic learning and growing community where each student is cherished as our hope for the future. We educate our students to one day step into leadership roles as stewards of the planet and all its beings.

The EAC Difference

We have a comprehensive curriculum that begins with a child’s first experience at age three and continues until graduation at the end of Middle School.

Primary & Extended Day

From birth to age 6 there are two principal objectives of the human being: to bring order to the vast amount of information that comes to us via our senses and to absorb the distinctive elements of our culture.

EAC Classroom Levels

EAC is divided into 4 distinct levels, each corresponding to a specific stage in human development. The universal characteristics of each stage determine the physical environment, adult/child relationship and methods of curriculum delivery. The growth that occurs in each level prepares the child for the level that follows. These are multiyear experiences.


At The Elizabeth Ann Clune Montessori School of Ithaca we prepare children for leadership in an equitable, just and peaceful world. We are committed to transforming the world through the education of children and continuously reevaluate our practice to meet the ever unfolding demands of the future.

1 7 8 9